Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Text box not submitted on enter

Explorer ,
Oct 02, 2019 Oct 02, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there guys!

I'm new to Captivate. I've been using Captivate 2019 version  11.5.0.476 on Windows. I was asked to use it because the company I work for already bought a license.

Everything was going okay until I needed to validate a simple text box before letting the user navigate to the next slide. I only need the user to enter a specific IP address, let's say: 10.10.150.20. These are the steps I have taken:

1. I created a variable called v_ip_address already set to "10.10.150.20". (I have tried both with and without the quotation marks)

2. The text box to be validated is called S03_Text_Entry_Box_1 and has an associated variable with the same name

3. I created an Advanced Action called S03_Address_Validation with a condition that checks if S03_Text_Entry_Box_1 is equal to v_ip_address and only runs one action: "Go to next slide"

4. Then, on the text box to be validated I assigned that Advanced Action called S03_Address_Validation both On Success and On Focus Lost

5. On the text box properties, I clicked on Validate User Input and display Success and Failure captions with a simple message.

6. I chose not to show a submit button. I need it hidden.

7. The text box itself has Enter as shortcut.

The result is:

- When I enter the right input into the text box (10.10.150.20), I always get a Failure message after pressing enter. Nothing else happens.

- Nothing happens when I press Tab. There's actually no other focusable element on the slide. No action is taken anyway.

- After clicking outside the text box, I get no Success message but it does navigate to the next slide.

Here's a couple of questions....