• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can someone help guide me towards how to set my puppets up? Think i've over-complicated things...

Explorer ,
Jan 04, 2023 Jan 04, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to CA and am trying to rig up 2 characters that I have created various sets of clothing etc for in an attempt to have everything in 1 place with the possibility of different combinations, and without too much duplication.

However, i'm not sure if i've shot myself in the foot because i'm struggling to rig them up and I can't find any examples of what i'm trying to do.

Can someone take a look and tell me what the best way to approach this is? Not sure if it would be better to choose a selection of costumes and strip out all the other artwork, then rig each one individually (although this could turn out to be incredibly time consuming).

I've attached the puppet which i started to rig up to try and get a walk animation working on (left only at the moment). If it's possible it would be great if i could keep it all in 1 thing so i don't have to create a load more puppets.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1wxlo0soHCNtOLBuwKHYSPs2IOhC16rft/view?usp=sharing

Thanks

TOPICS
Rigging

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Participant , Jan 06, 2023 Jan 06, 2023

Hi there,

you can set up swap sets for outfits by making each outfit a layer inside the body part group (eg. torso layer would open into the different outfit artwork for torso, Right leg opens into the different outfit artwork for right leg) See Outfit setup photo.
When you create your outfit swapset remember to put in each part of the outfit (see Outfit swap setup photo)