Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Cannot merge tracks from the motion library

Contributor ,
Aug 15, 2023 Aug 15, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Screen Shot 2023-08-15 at 1.51.41 PM.png

I am a composer who animates music for children. I love the Motion Library. However, I have a ton of tracks with dance movts. I cannot seem to figure out how to move them to one track. I can do it visems, by merging, but can't do it with the motion Library. Any ideas? 

TOPICS
Bugs , Tips and tricks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The merge tracks command currently only works on discrete/simple data like visemes or triggers.

The main reason it won't merge tracks for motion data or dragger/camera takes is that those kinds of data support blending and it wasn't implemented to fully translate the results of blending take data together. Also, visemes and triggers can be edited and viewed after being merged, whereas those other take types are somewhat opaque. (so it would be hard to tell where the "action" is after you've merged the take)

In your case where it doesn't have blends (or even overlapping takes), I suppose it could handle merging that data without a lot of extra work, but for now the only workaround is to collapse the take group so it shows up as though it were one take in terms of timeline vertical space. Another option if you wind up re-using those composed sets of takes is to turn them into replays so that they timeline is trigger recordings of those replays intead of raw motion library takes.

Hopefully that helps. (at least to understand why and the alternatives even if it doesn't let you use merge)

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines