• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

First character rig has problems - neck won't move, head wobbles, and mouth talks when there's no noise

New Here ,
Aug 07, 2019 Aug 07, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm just learning Character Animator, and truthfully, there are still a lot of factors and features in character rigging that I have yet to learn or understand (The video tutorials I could find seem to cover the basics more than the in-depth stuff).  I took a PSD of my YouTube persona I'd originally drawn up to use in Live2D but abandoned when I wasn't satisfied with that program's tweened mouth animations, retooled and renamed the layers to match the Blank Face template, and tested it out during a recent stream.  However, I've noticed three big problems that I have yet to figure out:

-I'm unsure how to have the neck move and be dependent on the head movement.  I saw videos saying to put the neck in the same layer as the rest of the static body and somehow manipulate just the neck part to move, but I can't figure out how, so the head often moves completely off the neck and body.

-The head seems to jiggle and wobble slightly and constantly a bit too much; dunno if this is something I can adjust in Character Animator or just a problem with my webcam.

-The lip sync seems odd in that it often makes some open-mouth shapes when there's silence other than some controller button presses (My capture card gets the game audio but my actual TV is muted, stuff at home that makes background noise is turned off, and Character Animator is set to receive audio through a high quality Yeti mic).

I'm hoping I can get some tips on fixing these problems, particularly the static neck.  Here's a video compilation I made showing all these problems:
characteranimator_weirdface.mp4 - Google Drive

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines