• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Head and body warping, dangle objects not moving, etc...

Community Beginner ,
Oct 18, 2020 Oct 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've spent all day working on this puppet and if I wasn't already bald I'd be ripping my hair out over the bizarre issues I've had throughout. It's my first time working with Character Animator, so I directly based my layer hierarchy and rigging on the stock puppet "Rin" initially, but found that my puppet did not behave the same way when rigged like Rin. After several tutorials and adjustments to both the PSD and the rig, I've managed to get the body to stay anchored to the bottom of the frame, and the facial features (including the tufts of hair up top I kinda improvised on) mostly move as desired, but the head itself moves way too far no matter what I do to the head position and tilt sensitivities, and if that layer is independent, it floats away and the body doesn't lean with it, but if it's dependent, it warps the top half of the head and pulls on a single point in the torso as well. On a less important note, but no less frustrating, I tried to give the hoodie drawstrings dangle physics, the same way I did the hair, but they remain glued to the body (and for some reason they get moved to the left a bit?)

I've attached a few screenshots -- the resting position looks perfect (aside from the drawstrings being off to the left), but head position and tilt cause ridiculous distortions. If anyone can make sense of what I'm doing wrong and how to fix it, I'd really appreciate it. I stream art commissions with a shuffling pile of GIFs of my avatar and I'm really itching to have a proper puppet instead.

Puppet file:

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/608815790883602463/767597283159048212/Rayne.puppet

TOPICS
Rigging

Views

Translate

Translate