• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Head and Torso not moving (probably connection issues)

Explorer ,
Apr 05, 2020 Apr 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,
This is my first time using Character Animator and I decided to ignore the advice to "start simple."  As a result, I have a puppet whose head and torso aren't able to move.  This is still a work in progress, but I eventually want to have a head and body that turn individually.  I thought it would be good to fix the problems now rather than magnify them 5 times by building on a broken file.

There's a chance the organization of this heirarchy may be causing the issue, but I suspect it's actually a connection issue.  When I select the "Head" group, a blue box appears around the head, but the torso has the yellow outline.   Also, when I select the Body group, I don't see the pivot/joint/connection point on the neck for the head.

I've been trying to troubleshoot this myself for the past 8 hours and decided I should reach out after making exactly zero progress.  I look forward to hearing your input as I'm sure it's going to exponentially expand my knowledge of this software; which I'm really excited about learning.

characteranimatorproblems.PNG
puppet-stuff.PNG
In addition to the screenshots, I've uploaded the Character Animator and Photoshop source files to my FTP.  Feel free to grab them if it helps:
https://ktracy.com/characteranimatorproblems/

"Be Excellent to Each Other." William Preston Esquire & Theodore Logan
TOPICS
Puppet movement , Rigging

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

LEGEND , Apr 06, 2020 Apr 06, 2020