Exit

one arm rigging works, the other doesn't

Community Beginner ,
Nov 07, 2018 Nov 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi There,

I'm new to character.

i have rigged up the arms of my characters using the tutorial.

one arm is working perfectly. The other isn't. The hand seems like it's locked in the same direction so it isn't rotating to use the direction of the arm.

And the arm is kind of doubling up on itself rather than moving like the other one...

any ideas?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 08, 2018 Nov 08, 2018

Hi Karen,

I was able to open your puppet. And the problem is you duplicated the left hand into the right hand and its in the left hand position (flip it over and move it to the other side of the puppet).
If you click the Right Arm layer in rig mode inside Character Animator (Ch). You can see there is a big rectangle around that arm... compared to clicking the left arm? You must have copied the left hand and placed it in the right hand but you didn't move it over to the right hand position, so the

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Karen,

Its tough to tell without seeing your puppet. You can try taking a screenshot or exporting the puppet and sharing it and I can take a look.

some things to check:

Do yo have each arm on it own layer?

Does each arm layer have a "+" on it in the PSD layer or a Crown to the left of it in Rig mode?

When you click each arm layer, did you drag the right arm tag to the shoulder so it pivots from there?

Did it highlight green when you dragged it over (meaning it attached to the graphic underneath?

If not, you can try selecting the Puppet in the Project panel and then choosing File>Export>Puppet then you can attach it here.

Good luck!
mark