• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best practices for JRE updates in Coldfusion?

Explorer ,
Jan 10, 2022 Jan 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

We're running Coldfusion 2018 at the latest patch level, and have been notified by our security folks that we're using a vulnerable version of the JRE (1.11.0_01).  I'm new to administering Coldfusion and wanted to know what the best practices are for performing JRE updates.  Should we be expecting updates to be included in the Coldfusion updates (I assume not, given how behind we are)?  If not, should we only be applying versions available here (https://www.adobe.com/support/coldfusion/downloads.html)?  Is this a good reference on how to apply the updates? (https://www.petefreitag.com/item/860.cfm)

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 10, 2022 Jan 10, 2022

To answer your questions, no, yes, yes. [Edit: initially I said "no" as the last answer, but that was clearly a mis-typing, as supported by what I said below about Pete's helpful post.]

And if you show running 11.0.1, you can see that's clearly NOT "the latest", even as offered on that Adobe page, specifically the section on Java downloads (though good news is that the page DOES show the current latest, which is 11.0.13 at the moment. )

And to be clear, that's the latest update to Java 11, n

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Jan 10, 2022 Jan 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

To answer your questions, no, yes, yes. [Edit: initially I said "no" as the last answer, but that was clearly a mis-typing, as supported by what I said below about Pete's helpful post.]