Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ImageResize: unable to cast an object of [B to image

LEGEND ,
Sep 27, 2015 Sep 27, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, all,

On a personal project at home, I'm trying to use ImageResize to resize an image pulled from a BLOB in a MySQL database.  I'm getting an error message "unable to cast an object of [B to image."  Have not a clue what that means. 

Here's my code..

SELECT imageBLOB, imageWidth, imageHeight

FROM r_images

WHERE imageID = <cfqueryparam value="#arguments.thisID#" cfsqltype="cf_sql_varchar" />

and..

variables.thisPicQry = new components.PICTURES().getAlbumPic('#trim(url.id)#');

ImageResize(variables.thisPicQry.imageBLOB,"50%","");

variables.thisImg = variables.thisPicQry.imageBLOB;

I've never used ImageResize() before.  The data from the database is already a binary; so what am I doing incorrectly?

V/r,

^_^

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Sep 29, 2015 Sep 29, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Do I need to convert the BLOB to something else in order to use ImageResize()?  If I don't use ImageResize(), the picture displays, but it's going way past the DIV boundary (it's being used as a background image.)

V/r,

^_^

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Create an image instance first and assign the blob to it, then manipulate the image.

So something like this :

theImage = ImageNew(variables.thisPicQry.imageBlob);

ImageResize(theImage, "50%");

Are you just displaying this on a web page though? If so and the image are not huge in size, dont use Coldfusion to resize it, just use CSS.

Votes

Translate

Translate