Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Advice on how to reuse old MS Access query in MySQL

Contributor ,
May 06, 2021 May 06, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I'm reviving an application from nearly 20 years ago. In going through the CFML, I find that I created several queries within the Access database that I used at the time, and I used them, programatically, like tables.

I have little knowledge about stored procedures, but my guess is that if I used the old query to create a stored procedure in the MySQL database, I could access it through my CFML the same way I did previously. That is, treating it like a table within CFML queries. I'd like to use the following code (calling AllRecordsUnion) in my new site without modification:

<CFQUERY DATASOURCE="county" NAME="list_links_county">
SELECT Links.APPROVE, Links.TYPE_DESC, Links.MAIN_NBR, Links.BEFOR, Links.LINK, Links.LINK_DISPL, Links.AFTER, Links.DESCRIP, Links.MUSIC, Links.SLOW, Links.ADDED, Links.LINK_DISPL, AllRecordsUnion.CNTY_NAME, AllRecordsUnion.LINK_RECORD
FROM Links INNER JOIN AllRecordsUnion ON Links.RECORD = AllRecordsUnion.LINK_RECORD
ORDER BY AllRecordsUnion.CNTY_NAME, Links.LINK_DISPL;
</cfquery>

I would just try this right now, but I'm quite a ways from having an appliation that I could use to test it. The original was built in FuseBox, and I'm sorting through a redesign. At this point, I just want to get the database squared away.

Thanks!

John

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 10, 2021 May 10, 2021

... If you knew that the MySQL datasource, "county," existed and that it included all the tables shown in the query above, as well as a stored procedure named "AllRecordsUnion," how would you code the query above to utilize AllRecordsUnion?

By @John_Allred