• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can an abandoned form submit data on an auto redirect?

Explorer ,
Jun 21, 2019 Jun 21, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a form that many people share.  If more than one person uses it, their data is overwriting the next persons.

I am working on a new page that will lock all other users from being able to submit data if another person is "logged" on to the page.

The logged in user will get kicked out after three minutes of inactivity.

The concern is, you may update several of the fields, get interrupted by a phone call, then get redirected to the home page and lose your data.

If I have it redirect to the submission / processing page, will it take the form data with it, then I can send them to the home page?

Please keep in mind, I am not a programmer, so I know there are likely many more elegant ways to resolve this.

Thank you

Credo-Coolers.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jun 23, 2019 Jun 23, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is a classic and long-standing problem with web app development which is not easily solved, and it's not at all unique to CF. I say that, to help you broaden your perspective if you may go searching for solutions or explanations.

(I hit ctrl-S out of habit, while writing at this point, because I had to go check something else out, and it posted my reply. I did not mean to post that alone as my answer. I will come back and finish my answer in a moment. I'm reporting this for any who got emailed the reply, in case they come back and might see this before responding to me.)