Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

cffile

Explorer ,
Aug 02, 2018 Aug 02, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm new to this.

I have a form where i want the user to be able to upload an image from a form.  for the cffile i'm using

<cfif len(trim(form.ImageData))>

<cffile action="upload"

fileField="ImageData"

destination="\uploads"

nameConflict = "MakeUnique">

</cfif>

it works locally when i input the specific directory on my hard drive but when i use the above online i get an access denied error and it looks like it's trying to save it locally on c:\uploads

on my ftp i created an upload folder but I don't know what the 'destination' field typically looks like when you are trying to use cffile on a live site.  What information do i need from my web host to make this work? Like, does it involve an ip address?  I'm thinking some kind of username and password will be required.  does cffile have username password field too?  Basically, what shoudl cffile look like when you're using it ion a  live site

Thanks,

MIke

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Aug 02, 2018 Aug 02, 2018

Here.. let's make this foolproof.  In your sites root folder, open the application.cfc, find the onRequestStart section and add the following:

<cfset rootPath = "#REreplaceNoCase(ExpandPath('./'),'(.+[\\|\/]mymindsnotright.com\www)(.)+','\1','all')#" />

This line will create a variable called rootPath, and no matter where in the folder structure the user goes, rootPath will always point to the root of the site.

Then, depending upon where in your site the uploads folder is, you append that flow to t

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Aug 03, 2018 Aug 03, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied