• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

CFFORM replacement now that Flash is dead?

New Here ,
May 23, 2021 May 23, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First, I apologize if this is answered elsewhere. I tried searching here and Google, but didn't really find much.  

I'm a former programmer who still has a legacy app used by my company very often.  For better or worse, I'm still the maintainer whenever IT can't handle it, and we are running into an issue where I made tabbed forms using Flash format with CFFORM many years ago.

Does anyone have a suggestion on how to replace with something else?  I was hoping for something as simple as format="HTML5" but that's not an option...  Not a complex form, it's got about 4 tabs to better organize data that can be edited to maintain records in a DB.  

Help & thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 23, 2021 May 23, 2021

Good news there. First, yes, most of those flash-based ui features in cf also offered an html/js-based option.

As for tabs, specifically, there are multiple options.  First, CF has supported a tabbed ui element using cflayout since cf8. But many have and will ever decry their use, suggesting that everyone should use pure js (a library you get, rather than one Adobe may provide, and let grow stale, or remove--as they did the yui library that did long underlie various cf ui tags). 

I can provide

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
May 23, 2021 May 23, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good news there. First, yes, most of those flash-based ui features in cf also offered an html/js-based option.