• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Design advice

Participant ,
Jun 05, 2015 Jun 05, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I would like to design an audit system for our department's intranet, please keep in mind, that I am not a programmer.

How I invision it is audit templates would be created, there would be questions that are asked and will always have a response of yes / no / NA, plus a small window to type note.  If there is a no, it will likely also need a corrective action.  There may be 1 question or 25, each audit will be different.

Then when the audit is created I would select one of the templates and create an audit for a user to perform.  The responses need to be stored electronically.  Again ir there is a "no" response, it will need an entry in another table for a corrective action.

Each template will be used many times.

Using a crude method I could create a table for each audit template, but that doesn't make it a very flexible system.

How do I create the tables for something like this?  I'm using MS SQL.

Thank you for any tips on getting this started.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jun 05, 2015 Jun 05, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You say, almost apologetically, that you're not a programmer. No need. Design has little to do with programming! In any case, I think you have done a good job.

One may also use natural language in design, as you have done. My only suggestion is that you put each distinct point on a separate line, thus

Create audit templates (each audit will be different)

There would be questions that are asked (up to 25)

The responses are yes / no / NA

The responses need to be stored electronically

Plus a small window to type note

If answer is a no, state the corrective action needed