• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Left outer join from two datasources

Explorer ,
Sep 16, 2019 Sep 16, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is an age old question, and we're currently using an age old version (CF9), upgrading soon.  I'm a developer of 25 years but have only been using CF for about 8 mos.

I have to get data from two different datasources and join them together.  Outer join, of course.  I've read many topics on this.  I had originally done this by looping at a query of the main table and selecting from a query from second table.  My supervisor & former CF programmer doesn't want us to use a loop/select. They first suggested a UNION of the two tables but that's not giving me the results I need.

I thought of selecting from one table then inserting them into a temp table on the second datasource but when I try to do an insert into the temp table then selecting from the query of the first table, CF tells me I can't do that either with error "Executing the SQL statement is not allowed."

Any suggestions on correct ways to outer join tables from two datasources without using a loop?

Thanks from "The new guy."

-=Rob=-

TOPICS
Advanced techniques , Database access

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, Rob,

First of all, I'd like to mention that selecting from two different datasources, as you have put in your question, isn't possible, AFAIK.  If you mean from two different TABLES in the same datasource, then yes, that can be done very easily.  And I totally agree with your supervisor.  Iterating through one query to get information from another query is high overhead.  It's more CPU intensive.