Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Migrate from CF V8 to CF 2018

New Here ,
Mar 18, 2020 Mar 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

Is it possible to migrate or import a CF site built in CF 8 directly into CF 2018. I have limited experience with CF and need some guidence. I have installed yeh trial version of CF 2018 and need to make sure I will have the same functionality with the site on the new platform. I have been attempting this but have not had sucess. My trial has 19 days left. Is there a possible extension for this trial so I can test further?

Thank you,

Robert

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Upgrading from CF8 => CF2018 is a HUGE jump.  A lot has changed between the two versions.  Some tags have been deprecated; some attributes have been changed or deprecated.  A few new ways to do something have been added.

You will most likely have to make some changes, depending upon what tags you used.

As far as extending the trial goes:  did the installer offer a developer edition of CF2018?  The installer used to give you that option.  The only difference between the two (dev vs full) are small things like PDFs have a "Created in ColdFusion Developer" watermark on all the pages.  Otherwise, the DEV version is just as robust and powerful as the full version.

HTH,

^ _ ^

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you the reply. I will install as developer. Is there a tutorial on how to move this over?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied