Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Updating Coldfusion 2016 update 7 to Update 17 - Help

Explorer ,
Apr 08, 2021 Apr 08, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I've been tasked with updating Coldfusion 2016 currently at Update-7 to the latest (17), Can i directly go from 7 to 17 or is there any issues if I do so? Where can I find details regarding dependencies and instructions. Since I took over this from someone who left, this is my first attempt at an upgrade 🙂

My current version is 2016,0,07,311392. (Linux Redhat Enterprise)

(Tomcat version : 8.5.32.0, Java version 1.8.0_192)

Please let me know.

Thanks

Sajan

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sajan, the answer is a conditional yes or no. In the case of the specific jump you are referring to, technically the answer is no (for most people, as I will explain). 

First, to be clear, yes, all CF updates are cumulative. NORMALLY, one could indeed skip to the latest they want. But in the case of CF2016 (and 2018), there are two conditions that change that circumstance, and there are in fact two updates between your update 7 and update 16 that you will need to consider implementing first, and almost certainly will need to.

And second, note that the top of the technote that you want to apply will explain this when necessary (though the wording is not always as obvious as it can be)  If you look at the top of the technote for CF2016 u17, you see it explaining points:

• you should consider doing update 11 first, if you want to use the CF Admin UI to download updates beyond that (like 17).