Unable to Authorize or De-authorize Digital Editions after hard drive cloned

New Here ,
Jul 20, 2020 Jul 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hope someone can help with this one. I'm a public librarian and this problem is on behalf of an elderly customer who borrows Overdrive e-books through out library, downloads into Digital Editions and then transfers them across to a Kobo e-reader. I've taken this problem to Overdrive and they won't help. So this forum is the last chance for her to get this working. I'll summarise briefly:

• Customer has a PC running Windows 10. She had a larger hard drive installed, and cloned all the contents of the old drive onto the new drive.
  • This has caused authorisation issues with Digital Editions that look as though they can be fixed by simply de-authorizing and then re-authorizing ADE and the e-reader.
  • Digital Editions is asking for Adobe ID and password before it will de-authorize.
  • Customer couldn't remember her password so she reset it.
  • Digital Editions refuses to recognise the new password. It looks as though she has to de-authorize with the old password (which she doesn't know).
  • So we're stuck. Can't de-authorize, can't re-authorize. Uninstalling and re-installing Digital Editions doesn't work and brings us back to the same problem.

Any ideas from anyone about the next steps? Many thanks in advance for any help.

Neil.

Views

translate

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jul 25, 2020 Jul 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied