• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Installing Adobe Creative Suite onMacBok Pro

New Here ,
May 03, 2021 May 03, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I hope you guys can help me - I am a real technophobe so please bear with me and respond as if I am 5 years old! I am a designer -I work on an iMac - the OS is Sierra version 10.12.6. I mainly use InDesign, but also Illustrator, Photoshop and Acrobat (all CC 2019, 14.0.3). I have just acquired a MacBook Pro to use when I am away/visiting family, etc. The OS on this is Catalina (10.15.7). I want to download the same versions of the Adobe suite on to this so that I have no problem with opening/working on files on either machine. So, when I try to install InDesign the oldest version showing under 'other versions' is 15.1.3. If I install this on the MacBook, will I have any problems with working on files across the two machines? What I need here is a solution on how to have compatible versions of the Adobe Creative suite on both machines. What's the best route? I am really stumped. I feel very stupid not knowing how to proceed so any guidance will be hugely welcome. Thanks in advance.

TOPICS
Creative Cloud , Installation

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You are right to be concerned.

1. You are quite right that you are only offered the current version, and one older version.

2. EVEN if Adobe offered older versions it wouldn't help. Catalina won't run the same old apps you are using on Sierrra.

3. You can't run the latest apps on your old High system.

4. YES, there will be significant issues with some apps. In particular InDesign. Once edited in the new version, you WILL NOT be able to open InDesign files in the old version.

Mixing system and app versions is troublesome even for experts.