• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

CEPHtmlEngine crashing Mac computers

Community Beginner ,
Aug 02, 2020 Aug 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all - I am at a loss for words as I have been cursing my iMac for years now trying to figure out what is wrong with it. I purchased anti-virus software,  hardware diagnostic software, running EtreCheck and trying to get help in Apple forums, reformatted hard drives and reinstalled system software from scratch, etc., etc. I even almost shelled out the bucks for another computer after my hard drive got damaged (I replaced it with an SSD because I thought the hard drive was the issue . . . imagine my disappointment with a brand new hard drive and a clean install of all software only to have it crash again constantly!). Then I almost replaced the power supply . . . only to find out the issue is with the Adobe software that I have been using all these years (I am not good at reading crash reports, but I did some research on the line that read: "BDS process name corresponding to current thread: CEPHtmlEngine" which kept appearing . . . and apparently Adobe has known about this since 2015 (even the current fix they have for it has modification dates of 2016 for 2020 software!). WHY? Once I found the issue, which has taken years and a lot of wasted time, my iMac has run perfectly. I just can't believe the issue is caused by Adobe software. Their lack of informing users of the problem and not properly fixing it since 2015 is ridiculous!

Usually, I do not rant like this, but this is major! And, when the update for Illustrator was just pushed out (a few days ago) I upgraded and my fans immediately started whirling and it was just a matter of time before the system shut down again. Once I went into the package contents and replaced the items in the com.adobe.DesignLibraries.angular folder with items from 2016, my computer was working again without a problem.