• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How embarrassing - almost 2021 and Adobe still can't deal with case sensitive file systems

Community Beginner ,
Nov 11, 2020 Nov 11, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How is it almost 2021 and Adobe Creative Cloud still can not deal with case-sensitive file systems? Worse, they aren't even consistent about it.

If someone has a suggestion that is actually helpful, and does not include "reformat your root filesystem to be case-insensitive" please let me know.

A little background. I am a software/systems engineer. I work on a variety of systems, primarily Linux, and have to have case-sensitive file system in order to coexist everywhere across the various Linux, BSD, and other systems I work with. 

My current system is a Mac mini with the root file system formatted APFS with a case-senstiive filesystem. I also have an Adobe volume which is case-insensitive. Somewhere back in February I installed all of this, and managed to get eveyrthing working. Sadly I lost my notes and don't recall how I did this. I haven't tried to reconstruct them, though it wasn't that hard. I remember it being really easy.

Fast forward thru 2020 and the apps update at variuos times. Then Creative Cloud tries to update itself, and the dreaded error 22. 

All the apps that have been installed and/or updated since install are working, except for Creative Cloud. It wants to update, but it can't. And I'd like to update the installed versions, but they are now stuck too.

The frustration levels are really high, especially after an extremely long wait to get help from their support and then the support person not reading what I wrote and asking questions I had already provided the answers to when I explained my problem after he or she signed in to my chat session. 

Any suggestions?

Thanks

TOPICS
Creative Cloud , Installation