• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I'm reluctant to do an uninstall and reinstall for Premiere Elements 13.

Community Beginner ,
Dec 02, 2020 Dec 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

During the past 3 or 4 winters I've been working on a big project involving converting Super 8 movies to digital but I'm not quite finished yet due to needing to narrate some clips in my own voice (for authenticity for my kids and grandkids) but am having some issues with my vocal chords so have had to suspend this project pending clearing said medical problem. In the meantime I want to use the other feature of the program called ORGANIZE PICTURES to create some long slide shows from still pix and short videos. However, whenever I initiate that program (I've never used it before now) it aborts before I get a chance to start using it. No error code but a small, brief notification pops up saying that the program had to close and Windows (running 8.1) will notify me of a solution if they can find one. But when I open the Windows troubleshooting app this incident is not listed so I doubt Microsoft will ever investigate it.  My guess is that this ORGANIZE program is corrupt - perhaps right from the original installation.  If this is likely the cause then my best solution is to uninstall and re-install P.E. 13. However, there is a lot of risk to me due to the unfinished leagacy project - I don't want to jeapordize it. I realize all my data files and preferences files are saved on my data drive but I'm concerned that if the re-install fails and becomes a permanent no-go due to some incompatibility issue(s) I might never be able to finish my legacy movie project.  An alternative work around I think would be to purchase some other slide show program to make the second project and not mess around with P.E.13. I'm wondering if anyone else has recently re-install