• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is it necessary to put the drive and directory name in links?

New Here ,
Sep 09, 2020 Sep 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to web creation. When I check my work offline with Firefox it has to have the drive and directory included in links to find them. It seems to me that, when it goes online, this information will cause problems as it won't be present. Any comments would be appreciated.

TOPICS
Browser , Preview , Publish

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 09, 2020 Sep 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Did you setup your site???

See https://helpx.adobe.com/au/dreamweaver/how-to/make-website-pt1-site-setup.html

Wappler, the only real Dreamweaver alternative.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 10, 2020 Sep 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As Ben stated, you will need to setup your site.  The files you link to in HTML have to live somewhere, whether it is your own server, or another server. If the files you link to are on your server then you will see relative links to those files. However, if you have a file on another server, maybe a youtube embed as an example, then you will be linking to that remote server in your code.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 10, 2020 Sep 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied