• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What prohibits cells from stretching to certain width in tables?

Advocate ,
Jul 24, 2020 Jul 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using Dreamweaver for many years. I'm cerainly not new to creating tables in html.

Yet, there are times, when I have a table with many cells that contain columns and rows, I am not able to stretch the colum to a certain size due to other columns and rows. Why is that?

I can only guess it's because I have nested the table within a table, or another cell's width within the table prevents me from doing so.

Should I stop using the curser to shape the tables cell columns and rely on the html code itself? Would that solve the ssue?

I would like to hear back from others on this issue.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Tables have always been goofy with their col and row spans. That's why unless you are creating an html email or very simple data table, for laying out information, you should now NOT be using them.

A lot of the stretching and mishappen issues relating to table were as a result of NOT using simple nested tables. A lot of issues also resulted from delaring explicit table/cell widths, which never added up correctly. It was very easy to end up with an unmanagable mangeld mess, especailly if you are or was using an inteface to pull and drag table/cell handles around.

Short answer is beyond producing email templates or simple data tables, then tables should not be used.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines