Highlighted

Error 177 when Updating to Dreamweaver 2020 via Creative Cloud App

Community Beginner ,
Nov 16, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm using Windows 10 updated to the latest version.

I used Creative Cloud App to update Photoshop, Lightroom, Lightroom Classic successfully, but updating Dreamweaver fails with Error Code 177 which tells me "the installation path is too long". 

All the Adobe apps mentioned above are installed using the same path, which BTW is the default path chosen/created by the Creative Cloud App...not me. I've been using these apps installed to this path for about three years and have updated them all numerous times without any problems until now.

When I go into CC settings to see the path it's trying to install to it is: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe Creative Cloud\ACC" which is only 54 characters long.

I know I can change this path, thereby shortening it, but I'm not clear on the future ramifications of doing this since it applies to ALL CC apps, not just Dreamweaver.

EDIT: I looked into manually downloading the Dreamweaver install file, but the 2020 version is not available.

If I change/shorten the install path via the CC app to update Dreamweaver now, the next time Photoshop or Lightroom need to be updated will the CC app still be able to remove the old versions from the old path?

Any help or clarification is appreciated!

TOPICS
Error

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Error 177 when Updating to Dreamweaver 2020 via Creative Cloud App

Community Beginner ,
Nov 16, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm using Windows 10 updated to the latest version.

I used Creative Cloud App to update Photoshop, Lightroom, Lightroom Classic successfully, but updating Dreamweaver fails with Error Code 177 which tells me "the installation path is too long".