Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

HELP! Purple line cannot be found.

New Here ,
Oct 30, 2018 Oct 30, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone.

(DISCLAIMER: I am a total beginner to this program and to coding in general)

I am preparing for an exam and I have run into a problem. I was following a video from a teacher building a website, and at a certain point, he used a purple line that I cannot do myself. I believe it says      # main-container. However when I try it myself, I get a blue line instead.

Screenshot_5.png

downloads.png

Due to this, I am not being able to center my items.

Can someone please help me? I am probably doing something very stupid

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 30, 2018 Oct 30, 2018

The only thing the code in your screenshot does is center the #main-container div.  No lines or borders are defined there,  purple or otherwise.

Purples and blues are adjacent to each other on color charts.  If you're using an un-calibrated monitor with a bad color profile, the rgb or hex color codes for purple might seem more like blue on your screen.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There is nothing in that code that would create a purple line.

Without seeing the remainder of the code, and the tutorial being used, it's going to be pretty difficult to come up with any reasoning for not seeing what happens in the video on your version of the page.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Jon, do you perhaps know why the teacher's line appears purple instead of blue?

Votes