• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I can't use Dreamweaver's FTP (was: FTP)

Enthusiast ,
Oct 23, 2018 Oct 23, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

FIRST I want to simply, more than anything, just be able to use Dreamweaver as a way to download the front end of my production site files and upload them to a staging site.

First I synchronize the local files with remote files. I only want to "get" newer files. The site is huge but it doesn't have so many changes that it should take so dang long. Is Dreamweaver just horrible for this? Should I just give up on Dreamweaver all together?

If I can't merely use dreamweaver for FTP then I can't imagine even beginning to try to use it for anything else. I've been using Adobe products for 20 years. There was a time when I liked dreamweaver ok, small, simple static sites. For several years now I just don't use it. As soon as I start to the first thing I always do is try to FTP a site I already have and it ALWAYS HANGS UP OR TAKES FOREVER.

So, right now I'm just miserable. I have way too much to do to be hung up on this. I don't want to back up EVERYTHING EVERYTIME WHEN i ALREADY HAVE IT ALL ACCEPT A FEW FILES. WHY CAN'T THIS JUST WORK RIGHT.

I hate the cloud. I have a simple workflow that I've been using for years. I don't need to do anything new and keep paying for things I'm not using and updates I don't care about. I guess I just need to get away from adobe?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 24, 2018 Oct 24, 2018

Neofilm  wrote

In case you didn't get it, I don't care if you care or not about what I use. I am here to complain....