Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

responsive composite images

Community Beginner ,
Dec 20, 2019 Dec 20, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Greetings,

I am a visual artist not a web designer. I have been using Dreamweaver for many years to create interactive composite imagery.  My coding abilities are rudimentary, and I’ve learned by trial and error and I am being made aware that the tools and techniques I am using are archaic or obsolete.

I use slices exported from Photoshop to cut an image into individually linked composite components. These hot linked areas must  follow the contours of forms within the image. Since final web page must be responsive, I cannot use “hotspots” to link these areas of the image, the only option I have found was to slice the image in Photoshop and link them separately, sometimes there are dozens of these components.  Of course, the pieces have to be perfectly aligned, even 1/10th of a percentage off shows up as a line. I am placing the components using percentage scaled and positioned AP divs.

Here is an example of a space http://uqbar.ca/19/DHC_451_1.html

and here is an example of an object http://uqbar.ca/19/Macchina/EX2MacchinaCover.html

Slices are obviously on the way out in Photoshop, they’ve been relegated to a legacy export. Photoshop html export is not up-to-date (html 4) and you have to go back to DW CS 6 to get an automatic converter to html 5. I can see the writing is on the wall for my process.

Is there another way to do what I am doing?  

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Paul

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Dec 20, 2019 Dec 20, 2019

Not without learning a bit of code I'm afraid.