Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

SCSS not creating css file

Community Beginner ,
Nov 13, 2017 Nov 13, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Enhance your CSS with preprocessors |

I've been watching this video and trying following along. The narrator says that a CSS file is automatically created, but I'm not seeing it in my folder. I'm working with Dreamweaver CC 2018. What do I need to do to create a compiler? I just started learning SCSS this morning, however, I've written CSS for quite awhile. Do I need to have a CSS file set up?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Adobe Employee , Nov 13, 2017 Nov 13, 2017

Hi,

Below link might be helpful to you:

Using CSS preprocessors in Dreamweaver

steps to make a css file from scss file-

• Make a site, Go to Manage site>CSS Preprocessor> General> click on "Enable Auto compilation on File save"
  • click on "Source and Output" choose "In the same folder as source"
  • Go to file>new SCSS> click on create
  • Write your code for SCSS file and save it
  • Go to Files Panel and refresh your site
  • A css file with the file name is created in the same folder where you have saved the file

Thanks

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This may help Using CSS preprocessors in Dreamweaver

What the above article does not say is that partials need to be preceded by an underscore as in _base.scss. The following image shows my folder structure where you can see that the partials (files with a preceding underscore) do not get compiled.

The following image shows (part of) the contents of styles.scss. Notice that the underscore and the extension (.scss) have been omitted.

You will also have to setup the site to include the paths as in

Good luck!