Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Which units to use for responsive web design

New Here ,
Aug 23, 2018 Aug 23, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello.

I am new to web design and have an important question to ask.  We all know that any website is going to be seen by probably every device out there that can view a page.  As such, different screens have different parameters such as width in pixels, and width in inches.  The pixels unit seems inappropriate because a screen can be 4.5" wide or,say 20" wide but have the same ppi.  If I were to use pixels, then a screen with the same ppi but vastly different width in inches will simply be scaled down to fit the smaller screen without any importance placed on the scale of the content, especially text.  I do not want to have to get out a microscope to view the webpage on my cellphone.  So it seems that inches is best, because regardless of the ppi,  I know my content will be scaled to the physical width of the screen, not ppi, which is only a measure of how sharp my web design will appear on any particular device with a given resolution.  Obviously, then, I need to compose my website for different screen sizes (like inches), NOT what resolution they will be viewing it at.

With that in mind, it also seems that another unit to use along with inches, is % of screen width.  For many screen sizes, I can simply let my content positions float based on what the media query tells me about a viewer's screen size, and therefore how to place my content solely based on percentage of screen width, without having to change things like text size (so long as everything fits in the smaller screen all scrunched up).  After that, I could switch to a different page layout for the next range of smaller screen sizes.