Highlighted

Allow non-admin to update and install apps

New Here ,
Feb 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

We created a package for Creative Cloud Desktop app in the Admin Console and enabled "Allow non-admin to update and install apps". This was deployed to machines and Non-admin users were able to install the apps they required. An update then came out for Creative Cloud Desktop app. When users launched the Desktop app it started updating. It got to 2% then bought up a UAC prompt. Our non-admin users were unable to enter creds that worked so the update failed and desktop app wouldn't launch.
To stop the desktop app from trying to update on it's own we added SelfUpdate false into the ServiceConfig.xml file. This stopped desktop app from trying to update but then when users tried to install apps from the apps panel it started bringing up a UAC prompt. 

Does anyone know of a reliable way to get Creative Cloud working for non-admin users? We're currently deploying version 5.0.0.354 to users. 

Thank you for sharing the case number. I reviewed it and checked with the tech and got the following response: "We educated the customer to check the group policy as non-admins can install the software but until windows installer has permission we cannot install anything on the system". 

The case is still open and awaiting your response. If the issue is still unresolved, so kindly contact our support team by replying to the email which you receive from Adobe related to the above case or can initiate the chat session, click on the chat icon on the bottom right corner of this page: https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html

Topics

Deploy and package apps, Teams

Views

1.5K

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Allow non-admin to update and install apps

New Here ,
Feb 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

We created a package for Creative Cloud Desktop app in the Admin Console and enabled "Allow non-admin to update and install apps". This was deployed to machines and Non-admin users were able to install the apps they required. An update then came out for Creative Cloud Desktop app. When users launched the Desktop app it started updating. It got to 2% then bought up a UAC prompt. Our non-admin users were unable to enter creds that worked so the update failed and desktop app wouldn't launch.
To stop the desktop app from trying to update on it's own we added SelfUpdate false into the ServiceConfig.xml file. This stopped desktop app from trying to update but then when users tried to install apps from the apps panel it started bringing up a UAC prompt. 

Does anyone know of a reliable way to get Creative Cloud working for non-admin users? We're currently deploying version 5.0.0.354 to users. 

Thank you for sharing the case number. I reviewed it and checked with the tech and got the following response: "We educated the customer to check the group policy as non-admins can install the software but until windows installer has permission we cannot install anything on the system". 

The case is still open and awaiting your response. If the issue is still unresolved, so kindly contact our support team by replying to the email which you receive from Adobe related to the above case or can initiate the chat session, click on the chat icon on the bottom right corner of this page: https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html

Topics

Deploy and package apps, Teams

Views

1.5K

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Feb 17, 2020 0
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The option "Allow non-admin to update and install apps" allows the users to install and update CC apps using the desktop app and to install the creative cloud update, we always recommend the admins to enable UAC on the user's machine as update/upgrade and installation requires admin/elevated privileges. You can enable the "SelfServeInstalls" option in "serviceconfig.xml" file which allows the users to upgrade the creative cloud apps.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 20, 2020 0
New Here ,
Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes that's what we read that option should do, that's why we enabled it. But it doesn't seem to be working. From what I've seen enabling that option adds "SelfServeInstalls" option in "serviceconfig.xml". I can confirm that option is in there. UAC is enabled, we will not be disabling this. 

 

Our issue is even when all these options are set it still doesn't allow our non-admins to update and install apps. 

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 20, 2020 0
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please confirm the version of the creative cloud app installed on the user's machine right now.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 20, 2020 0
New Here ,
Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Version 5.0.0.354

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 20, 2020 0
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The latest version of the creative cloud is 5.0.0.354 so ideally they should not get any prompt to update the application.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 20, 2020 1
New Here ,
Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

We had 4.9.0.515 on the machines, this is the one that was prompting for an update when Creative Cloud Desktop was launched. 

We added SelfUpdate false into the ServiceConfig.xml file to stop this from updating.

Then we pushed out 5.0.0.354. We left SelfUpdate false in the ServiceConfig.xml file because we dont want it to start prompting again when the next version comes out.

We've tested with both versions and users are getting the UAC prompt trying to install apps from the panel. 

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 20, 2020 0
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Kindly confirm if "SelfServeInstalls" option in "serviceconfig.xml" is enabled or disabled. If possible to share the screenshot of the prompt the users are getting.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 20, 2020 1
New Here ,
Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

IMG_2647.jpg

This is the prompt users are getting.

 

And this is our current ServiceConfig.xml. "SelfServeInstalls" is true.

 

config.PNG

 

 

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 20, 2020 0
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Kindly give read/write permission to Adobe folder from this location and check if you are still getting the prompt: C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe.

If the issue persists, kindly create a support case so that our support agent can check the settings and details over a remote session.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 21, 2020 1
New Here ,
Feb 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I gave the Users group full control over C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe and it's still bringing up the UAC prompt and not letting them install the applications.

 

We actually already have a support case open with adobe. I spoke to 5 different people and their responses varried from:

Person 1 - "to be honest with you, the customisation, oyu are expecting, works only in case of Enterprise licenses
you own a team license"

Person 2 - "i am sorry but the feature you are looking for is not a part of team plan"

Person 3 - "So, that restriction is different then option you are referring to .
"allow non-admins to update and install apps" , this option only allow end user's to see application panel in desktop application. So, they can update application
However, if user machine is restricted with admin rights. You may grant all adobe folder with admin rights on your end"

Person 4 - Said that 1 & 2 were incorrect about it being an enterprise license only feature and tried to troubleshoot the issue with us by getting us to use the old installable packager which created a package of version 4.9.0.515, this installed then tried to update straight away which bought up the UAC prompt, when it was cancelled because the user we were testing with did not have admin rights it hung at 2%.

Person 5 - Gave me various articles on how to make our users admins.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 23, 2020 0
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Kindly share the case number which you have created against this issue.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 24, 2020 1
New Here ,
Feb 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Case# ADB-11444924-J1S6

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 24, 2020 0
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you for sharing the case number. I reviewed it and checked with the tech and got the following response: "We educated the customer to check the group policy as non-admins can install the software but until windows installer has permission we cannot install anything on the system". 

The case is still open and awaiting your response. If the issue is still unresolved, so kindly contact our support team by replying to the email which you receive from Adobe related to the above case or can initiate the chat session, click on the chat icon on the bottom right corner of this page: https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Feb 25, 2020 1