• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Blocking Flash Player is an insane decision.

Community Beginner ,
Jan 15, 2021 Jan 15, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

As a software developer, i would like to share my experience and my opinion with you.

First of all, every product is going to reach it's End-Of-Life date, one day or another.
This is the classic Lifecycle or every product on the market, and we are all aware of such things.

What you just did, is blocking your own software and killing a lot of application of people that put their trust on your company, in an unilaterally way.
They trusted in you ,they bought licences (IE: Flash Builder), spent a lot of time to learn from your own documentation, spent a lot of money on Research and Developement using your technologies and products.
You owe them some respect, and at least, their voices must be heard, and not skipped with a single argument like "Security Reasons" or "Deprecation Known since 2017".

To be fair, you just crossed the point of no return.
With such managments, No one is going to trust on your technologies anymore.
You were a big part of tech in the old days, people talked about Adobe in a good way (Dreamweaver, Photoshop, Flash, InDesign, etc ...).
Today you decided to kill yourself on purpose, and to kill a lot of companies that were selling products based on Flash.

I personnaly know some people using AIR and Flex Applications.
These technologies were on their stack, and they built all their mains applications with Flex and AIR.
Now, you unilaterally decided to let them down. You unilaterally decided to kill theses companies. This is sincelerly not acceptable.
You should be ashamed for this. You should be blamed for this. And you should be condamned for this on a trial. I mean it.