• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Flash player IE 11 Windows 10 : confused

Explorer ,
Jun 05, 2017 Jun 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I have been prompted to update Adobe Flash player 22 Active X version 22.00.1.192 . I am using Windows 10 and have IE 11 installed but I very rarely use it. I thought that Windows 10 updated Flash player, I get updates for Adobe from windows 10. When I tested Flash player on IE 11  it said I had version 25.0.0.171 -up to date. In manage  add ons I have Shockwave Flash object version 25.0.0.171 listed but no Flash player 22 Active X. In programs Flash player 22 Active X version 22.0.0.192 is listed and Flash player 25 NPAPI version 25.0.0171 but not Shockwave Flash object 25.0.0.71.

I am not very tech savvy and am confused about the above information and its significance. Can anybody explain what, if anything, I need to do. I upgraded from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 about a year ago.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Adobe Employee , Jun 06, 2017 Jun 06, 2017

Yes. However, it's still a mystery as to how the entry was created.  Since I wasn't able to reproduce the behaviour, it's difficult, at best, to investigate further.  I apologize it took so long to resolve the issue.

--

Maria

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As of Windows 8, Microsoft embeds Flash Player ActiveX Control in IE, and all updates are distributed by Microsoft via Windows Update.  The embedded version does not display in the list of installed programs as Microsoft considers it a component of IE (and Edge in Windows 10).

Shockwave Flash Object and Flash Player ActiveX Control are the same thing, just referenced differently.