• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Pop up saying To use the "java" command tool you need to install a JDK

Community Beginner ,
Dec 08, 2020 Dec 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I was told by someone who advises me about my Mac to post this question here as they were stumped. I keep getting a window that pops up saying "To use the "java" command tool you need to install a JDK. Click "more info..." to visit the Java Developer Kit download website." Then it has an OK buttom and a More info button. I'm not a developer and I don't even know what a JDK is or why this is popping up. I'm running Mac Catalina 10.15.7 This window has been popping up for over a year, about every half hour I'm on the computer. PLEASE! Someone tell me how to disable it. Thank you.

TOPICS
Error , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Adobe Employee , Dec 08, 2020 Dec 08, 2020

This issue gets posted here quite often. What I suspect is happening is that whatever page the 'More Info' link goes to requires Flash Player and it's not coded correctly where the browser detects the content requires Flash and thus can't prompt the user to allow Flash to view the content.

Java and Flash Player are completely separate and have nothing to do with one another.

Some programs require Java to be installed to run.  What's most likely happening is you have one of these programs install

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is there any message about Flash Player at the same time? They are both free downloads, but they are entirely different things.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines