swf files in Flash Player Projector trying to force a connection to the internet?

New Here ,
Nov 27, 2020 Nov 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

In light of Flash Player shutting down at the end of the year I'm trying to save some games from a site I used to play when I was a kid as .swf files while the option still exists to me. I have a Firefox extension which allows me to save swf files and I have pulled a few games from the site, but I can't seem to figure out a way to execute the content.

I downloaded the Flash Projector from Adobe's site but when I try to open the file, I just get a blank white page and a request for the file to communicate with the site, which feels kind of self-defeating as the games will likely no longer be accessible. In any case, no matter what setting I choose, it doesn't load the game. Each time I start the projector, I get the same prompt, and I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. As well, if I try to run the Projector as an admin, I get an error message: "Windows cannot access the specified path, device, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item."

if anyone would be able to advise me, that would be great. Thanks!

TOPICS
End of life, Error, How to, SWF

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Most Valuable Participant ,
Nov 28, 2020 Nov 28, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

But Flash Projector is reaching EOL and closing down too...

Anyway, even if it wasn't, a game isn't likely to be self-contained in an SWF, except for the simplest ones. The gameplay is likely to be managed by software on the site itself. So... it isn't that Flash Projector needs to contact the internet, it's that the SWF file wants to do that.

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines