• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Usage of Flash 'CODEC' after 2021

New Here ,
Nov 19, 2020 Nov 19, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

(I know this is... beating a dead dog; but...)
All the other posts have been focused on Adobe killing their Flash plugins for all the different browsers.
My question is about the CODECs for *.flv files.
Does Adobe have a kill switch for their CODEC???

[i.e. In my OLD... archives; I have a large collection of *.flv videos, which I want to convert to *.mp4 and I am wondering how long I have to do these conversions]

P.S. In 2006-2015, I was a computer tech doing updates on 300+ PCs. And Adobe was always coming out with a new revision of flash; and killing the previous one, because it was vulnerable! 
They must have some really crappy programmers to have that many holes in their software!

TOPICS
End of life , SWF

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Nov 20, 2020 Nov 20, 2020

Flash is not a CODEC. Flash Player is a plug-in for browsers. There is also Flash Projector, used to read and display standalone files. Report is that both of these things will reach end of life, and then will time bomb. Adobe may chip in to offer additional info and thank you for your compliments.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Nov 20, 2020 Nov 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Flash is not a CODEC. Flash Player is a plug-in for browsers. There is also Flash Projector, used to read and display standalone files. Report is that both of these things will reach end of life, and then will time bomb. Adobe may chip in to offer additional info and thank you for your compliments.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines