• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Change bars FM vs Word

Community Beginner ,
Apr 23, 2018 Apr 23, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

After dozens of years using FM in numerous companies, I'm at a loss as to how to convince my current company that using FM's automatic change bars is a better way to go than "drawing in" bars via the graphics tool. I've explained everything I can think of, but it's not convincing management.

In Word, they say, one can paste in  change bars easily, whereas using automatic bars in FM seems too slow and inefficient. The main problem is two "versions" of change bars. Not only does the current version of the manual require change bars, but it also requires change bars from the previous version -- and the front matter page that lists change pages has to include "change 1" and "change 2" bars.

Company is feeling that Word is better in most regards. As a Technical Writer, I KNOW this is NOT true ... FM is a publications tool, versus Word being just a word processor, etc., etc., etc., etc.

Anybody not worn down by trying to make this argument have any ideas about how to explain that "pasting in" bars via graphics tool (as one does in Word) is not a better way to go? Each argument I can think of is falling on deaf ears.

Thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Joan:

I actually have never heard this argument before.

And while you can add change bars automatically while editing (the traditional use), are you aware you can also add them via a paragraph tag and/or a character tag? However, once added, they all look the same—you can't define two different looks, which it sounds like you might need to reflect current and previous version edits?