• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

FM2019 - Publish xhtml - not publishing changed content (publishes old)

Engaged ,
Apr 16, 2019 Apr 16, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yeah, that sounds cryptic 🙂

So... I have a book from which I generate four targets -- 2 pdf (via print book) and 2 xhtml (via publish). Yes, I know I can do pdf via publish as well, just haven't tried it yet.

Anyway... I've come across two bits of weirdness in FM2019 vs FM2015 (this is my first time generating these targets in fm2019, worked fine in fm2015):

• Weirdness #1: Generated xhtml perfectly, except I noticed that I had an error in a piece of text an associated image in one of my chapters (.fm file). Went into the chapter, fixed the text, altered the image (specifically, a callout in the image), and regenerated the output. Viewed the output and ... the text and image hadn't changed.

So... I cleared the output folder (f:\testing\target1) and regenerated again. Viewed the output... still the same text and image.

Cleared the output folder again, closed Framemaker, reopened, opened the book, regenerated, viewed output and it was fine.

Why is it not accepting the text/image change, and where did it pull the 'old' version from? (remember, I'd deleted the output folder)
  • Weirdness #2: Changed my conditional text settings to show the content I needed for my second xhtml target. Selected Publish, changed my Settings File to the version for the second target, changed the output folder from f:\testing\target1 to f:\testing\target2, generated the xhtml and viewed the output. It showed me the output from ..\target1.
    Went to the the f:\testing and saw that .\target2 had been created. Went to the index.html file and opened it and ... it had generated the target1 content in \target2.