Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

FrameMaker 2020 importing word document and outport XML

New Here ,
Apr 12, 2022 Apr 12, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am fairly new at framemaker and had a quick question. 
is there a way when importing a word document to save it as an XML file but being able to output with specific XML tags. 
for example. When I have a Title somewhere can it reflect on the xml output as <Title> </Title> 

And when I use a Heading can it output where there is headings used as <Heading></Heading> 

ETC...

thank you in advance. 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Apr 12, 2022 Apr 12, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When you import from Word to FrameMaker, the initial FrameMaker document is unstructured (no XML). But you can use a "Conversion Table" to add structure to a FrameMaker document, based on formats (styles). Then you can output to XML. There is a Save As XML feature for unstructured FrameMaker documents with some limited control on how tags are output. This is kind of a simplified answer; if you want more details, feel free to contact me off list. rick at frameexpert dot com

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Mentor ,
Apr 13, 2022 Apr 13, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied