• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I put a cross reference on a text line added to an illustration?

Explorer ,
Mar 27, 2018 Mar 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hiya everybody, I'm pretty new to FrameMaker 2017 (and FrameMaker in general) and I have a small problem I'm trying to work out.

I'm editing a manual made by someone else, and I have an illustration that has several "call-out" numbers on it referring to components of the widget referred to with this manual.  What I'm trying to do is to add a cross-reference from each of these text line callouts to the particular section of the book that would allow the reader to click on the number of the component in the PDF and get linked to that section of the manual.  No matter what I try, I cannot get a cross-reference to attach to the text line.

What's the best course of action here?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Jimlight,

Use your Hypertext pod to insert a Cross-Ref marker in the text line and use the marker text as a label for when you insert the xref.

Then you can insert a spot cross-reference via the Cross-Reference pod. You'll see your label when you set Source Type to Cross-Reference Markers.

You can read more about the process in the Creating spot cross-references section of my book, FrameMaker - Working with Content.

-Matt

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you Matt!