Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to: make new Headers & Footers

Community Beginner ,
Mar 24, 2020 Mar 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am new to FrameMaker - already googled and found some tutorials about headers, footers, variables... but

Somehow the document i am working in is missing it's headers and footers.

I would like to create a few new ones (at different locations) and need these Headers and Footers to pop-up on already existing body or master pages.

Currently, i am working in a book - since i found out i could multiple copies of (pre-setup) body pages - if you think i am doing this sluggish - please let me know.

But primarly, my question is focused on how to create new footer and headers.

> Currently, working in FM2019.

Kind regards

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In a new default document, use View > Master Pages. There will be an empty header frame at the top, and an empty footer frame at the bottom. Click inside each and add your text. When you navigate back to the Body Pages, the content will be visible in the top and bottom margins.

If the frames are missing, you can add the with the Select Object tool (View > Toolbars > Graphic Toolbar). Be sure to designate them as background frames, and not template frames.

~Barb

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Running H/F1 is indeed a variable. Double click it on the master to see the current definition.

Screen Shot 2020-03-24 at 9.39.58 AM.png