• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

No more perpetual Framemaker Liense? Looking for alternatives

Explorer ,
Aug 02, 2020 Aug 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I just realized that Adobe decided to take away perpetual licensing and their new model would prevent us from using the software we paid money for if we stop our subscription. I'm wondering how does the Framemaker community feel about this?  As a writer, I can afford to pay for a perpetual license every few years but cannot afford a yearly license.

Am I in the minority here?

TOPICS
Installation and licensing

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Aug 03, 2020 Aug 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm not particularly happy with the subscription model, myself, and for that very reason.

On the other hand, if you run the numbers you'll discover that it's cheaper, year over year, to get the subscription rather than pay for a perpetual license, especially if you expect to keep upgrading versions. The subscription works out to $360/year, give or take, and includes upgrades to any major version that is released during the subscription period, and my recollection is that even an upgrade to FM was close to $1000 each time. (My recollection may be faulty, given the last time I purchased one was for FM2017.)

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Aug 03, 2020 Aug 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One might ask if anything is really "perpetual" when it comes to software.