• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Output formats of an unstructured FrameMaker document?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 08, 2018 Jul 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sorry about this question but I am a newbie to Adobe FrameMaker so, here goes -

Let's say I need to create a software installation/user guide in FrameMaker. I need the output in various formats obviously - PDF, online help, and so on. Can an unstructured document created in FrameMaker be used to generate different formats or do I need to create a structured document using DITA/XML?

Also, how does the formatting in structured documents work in FrameMaker? Any insights would be appreciated. I am currently getting the hang of DITA, and it sounds more practical to use it since my current and future projects call for it. 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 09, 2018 Jul 09, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can unstructured FM produce multiple outputs? Yes.

Is structured FM more applicable? Maybe - depends on your amount of reuse and localization required.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Does it make sense to create a structured document and then create different EDDs for multiple output formats?

Or create an unstructured document with the formatting and then convert it into a structured document?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied