• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Problem with Home page in .chm Help published from FrameMaker 2019

New Here ,
Jul 07, 2020 Jul 07, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, When I generate a Microsoft HTML Help file (.chm) from FrameMaker 2019, the Home selection from the Options menu.

hitch66_2-1594158116641.png

Is there any way to fix this within FrameMaker 2019. 

I know, .chm is an ancient relic and RoboHelp is a far more effective way to generate this archaic brand of help. But I am a temporary contractor working with the tools supplied by my client—only allowed to use in-house software.

Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 08, 2020 Jul 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

First is to check your FrameMaker version. The newest one is 15.0.6.956.

As far as I know the publishing engine in FrameMaker and RoboHelp is the same. Only the configuration might be simpler in RoboHelp. Therefore FrameMaker is fine.

Where is your chm file stored? You get this kind of message, when the chm file is not on a local drive, but on a network.

Best regards

Winfried

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Winifred,

I am using version 15.0.6.956. The .chm file is on my local c: drive, yet I still get this error message when I select Home. Is there any way to fix this using FrameMaker 2019? Thanks, Rick 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Do you have IE installed on that machine where you're trying to view it?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines