Applying Different Paragraph Styles to Table Cells Using EDD

New Here ,
Oct 26, 2016 Oct 26, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Gang,

I'm relatively new to the world of FrameMaker - so please forgive me if this is a silly question...  but I am trying to figure out a way to insert a table that has a mix of paragraph alignment within the rows and columns.

The paragraph alignment for most of the tables in my document are simple and are handled by one of three attributes: alignTableHeader, alignTableBody and alignTableFooter. The user selects "center", "left" or "right" for each attribute and the EDD applies the proper paragraph format to the text.

However, there is one table (our LEP) that has the paragraph alignments shown below:

Header 1 - align leftHeader 2 - align centerHeader 3 - align center
Cell content - align leftCell content - align rightCell content - align center
Cell content - align leftCell content - align rightCell content - align center

The attribute alignment variables don't work in this case because it applies a single alignment to each section (header, body and footer) - and in this case the header has two alignments and the body has three.

I attempted to get around this by creating a new table style in table designer, formatting paragraph alignment in the cells and then updating the table style. I then wrote a context rule in the EDD that ignores the formatting that is normally applied by the attribute selection (which I have verified is working)...  but it seems that the table designer and paragraph designer are independent and paragraph styles are ignored. All paragraphs align left.

I am trying to design a system where the users don't have to apply styles manually to the structured document...  but I am not sure that it is possible to do that in this instance (unless the team will allow me to change the formatting on this table).

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks!

John

TOPICS
Structured

Views

translate

Translate