Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Basics - how do topics get moved into books to create, say, an O&M manual

New Here ,
Jan 21, 2020 Jan 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi forumers - my first post here!

I've just fired up Fm 2017 and am a complete novice.

I understand the DITA concept but cannot grasp how DITA topics are "injected" into maps or books with master pages and reference pages etc.

In short - how do I assemble topics into an illustrated document with a fixed style.

Are there any books I could look at?

Thanks in advance

NKB69

TOPICS
Content migration , Structured

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you sure you want to tackle structured FM if you're a novice FM user? If so, you're going to need a lot of training on how to make it work. I'd suggest contacting either Matt R. Sullivan (techcomtools.com) or Barb Binder (rockymountainingtraining.com).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks Jeff.

I'm in England so will source local training.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

They both do remote training sessions via the web - I don't know any UK structured FM trainers off the top of my head. Are you really sure structured DITA is the way to go? It can be quite expensive to get things set up and output created.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm pinging someone in the UK who might know - I'll post back if I get a contact for you.

Votes