• EspaƱol
      • FranƧais
      • PortuguĆŖs
  • ę—„ęœ¬čŖžć‚³ćƒŸćƒ„ćƒ‹ćƒ†ć‚£
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • ķ•œźµ­ ģ»¤ė®¤ė‹ˆķ‹°
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't type lowercase "u" or uppercase "C" in FrameMaker 10. Help??

New Here ,
Sep 04, 2012 Sep 04, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am using Unstructured Frame 10.0.2.419 (as part of TCS 3) on Windows XP. I have been using this system on this computer for 9 months now and have never experienced this issue until today. I've been using Frame on and off since 2000 (since  v. 5.5.6) and have never seen this before anywhere. I'm hoping someone here has seen this behavior before and might have a solution.

Really, I'm hoping that I accidentally entered some kind of keystroke combination in Frame that enabled some phantom settings that I can easily disable by entering another magical set of keystrokes or clicking a checkbox somewhere. Or something.

This morning when I opened up my recent Frame books that I was working on Friday, I began editing them and soon noticed that the lowercase letter "u" would not appear when I typed it. I began the troubleshooting process:

• Replaced keyboard, thinking it was something to do with the physical key. Nope.
  • Tried typing in other applications - every key types perfectly in all other applications.
  • Tried typing in the "Edit Marker" and "Edit Variables" panes in FrameMaker. The key works just fine there, too.
  • Closed all files and the application, then restarted FrameMaker. Made a wish... the files still behave the same.
  • Since I am on deadline, I decided to wait to Restart my entire computer until later in the day. No success after doing that either.
  • Began using the tedious shortcut of copying and pasting already-existing letter "u"s when I needed them (remember, this key worked on Friday) and soon thereafter discovered that I can type a lowercase "c" but not an uppercase one. Sigh.