• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Conditional text and table numbers

Community Beginner ,
Apr 22, 2014 Apr 22, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a source doc from which I am going to generate two user guides (I am new at this). I have two conditional tags set, which I plan to show/hide as required to generate the final PDFs.

First snag: I have a products specification table, which is different for each guide. Using auto numbers, I have created the first table (1-1).

Then I add the second table (prod specs for the other product). It of course shows up as table 1-2 (and all sequential tables will be misnumbered). Using the Show/Hide command, I see the correct table.

How do I get correct sequential table numbers for each end document?

Thanks very much.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How is the numbering being applied to the tables? Are you using a sequence identifier jn the autonumber to keep the table numbering series separate? If so, then FM should reconcile the numbering when you hide a table.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

No, I don't know about sequence identifiers. I just have auto-numbering turned on; I use a section/number parameter (that is probably the sequence identifier.?): C:Table <$sectionnum>–< >< ><n+>\t

The vast majority of the tables belong in both outputs; there are just a few which are separate. Though, now that I think of it, there are maybe two more tables in one of the docs than the other, and that messes up the numbering too.