Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Convert FM equations into TeX strings

New Here ,
Jul 21, 2010 Jul 21, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

FM newbie here

Is it possible to convert equations in a Framemaker document into TeX strings?  In other words: parse a document for equations and blow them up into equivalent TeX string?

Thanks

phaedo

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The only FM to LaTex converter that I'm aware of is found on Ken Turner's site at: http://www.cs.stir.ac.uk/~kjt/software/framemaker/

I don't know if it does equations.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks, I previously found it but it's only for Unix and the readme page says:

The following information is lost in the translation:

• page layout, including page numbering
  • the document date
  • frames, including figure contents and mathematics expressions
  • markers, including index entries
  • table formatting

so I assume equations aren't converted.

Does anyone know another tool to do this type of conversion?  Looking at the structure of MIF equation, it shouldn't be very difficult...

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Advocate ,
Jul 22, 2010 Jul 22, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Phaedo,

You have already looked at the MIF representation, which is also available to API programming methods. Can you give us an example of what you would like to see, i.e. how a MIF construct has to be turned into a TeX string?

- Michael

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jul 22, 2010 Jul 22, 2010