Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Converting FM book to XML (DITA)

Community Beginner ,
Sep 11, 2015 Sep 11, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, colleagues

With this post I’m trying to raise the question of using XML (DITA) within Adobe Technical Communication Suite 2015.

I have experience with developing “unstructured” documents in FrameMaker, but I have never tried XML based (DITA) functional capabilities. Therefore, I’m a novice in this.

Pre-requisites:

• - Adobe Technical Communication Suite 2015
  • - Bunch of FrameMaker 12 unstructured sources (books, chapters, and illustrations)

Tasks and Workflow:

I need to provide Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) with an easy access to documents I create, edit, and manage in FM. SMEs, I assume, should be able to check documents’ (files’) content, and suggest the content’s changes. Next, I should be able to review the changes, apply/or reject them (in FrameMaker), and finally generate a PDF file and/or HTML5 Help output (using RoboHelp).

I consider using XML format, because, in this case, SMEs do not need to have FrameMaker installed on their computers, thus they may use any XML (WYSIWYG) editor. (Am I right?)

In other words, there is the following workflow:

1. In FrameMaker, I should be able to manage files, files’ content, illustrations, cross-references, markers, create, edit, and apply the necessary “paragraph” and “character” styles, dynamically update TOC, LOF, and IX files, manage “conditional” tags. I would like to use FM normally in this case.
  2. Next, I need to organize a kind of XML-based project in FrameMaker and generate XML files. I need to make sure that all styles, cross-references, illustrations, and so on are kept in such project. Then I will be able to share the XML files with SMEs.
  3. SMEs should be able to access XML files, review them and make the changes if required.